Day 1 of 30. I survived!

Let me start by telling you, this is not one of those detoxes you do on the weekend, because your best friend is going to be the john.  Eating the way the program dictates actually creates an alkaline environment in your body, which makes it nearly impossible for inflammation and disease to live within it.  This is a month-long process of spring-cleaning your body and organs.  After the spring-cleaning is finished you begin to reintegrate foods you’ve done without, so you can pinpoint the culprits of the issues you’re experiencing.  Today is the day.  Here we go.

By the way, I feel like I need to keep a Captain’s Log with dates and times, so you can experience the blow by blow account of everything that happened today.  It wasn’t terribly difficult, but I found myself a little nervous.  I didn’t want to do something the wrong way.

I woke up and quickly got ready for work, so I would have time to start the day with supplements and prep shakes and snacks for the day.

First up was Arbonne Digestion Plus.  This is a mix of pre- and probiotics and enzymes.  How to describe it…..  Didn’t taste too bad, just strange.  Had I mixed it thoroughly, I probably would not have gagged on the chunk that went down in the very last gulp.  Side benefit:  I wasn’t hungry for a while.  I’ll take it.

Digestion Plus

I blended up my breakfast shake and lunch shake at the same time and included:

  • Arbonne Chocolate Protein Shake Mix
  • Arbonne Daily Fiber Boost
  • Liquid – 1/2 water and 1/2 unsweetened vanilla coconut milk
  • 2 Tbsp unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 2 Tbsp flax meal
  • A small handful of baby kale (you cannot taste this, I promise)
  • About 1.5 cups of ice

This went into 2 Blender Bottles which I found on Amazon for about $12 for a set of two. Each shake was about 14oz and tasted pretty good as far as protein shakes go.  Not chalky, which would be a big problem for me, and had a little actual flavor.  I could taste the chocolate, and the coconut products.

After the gag induced nausea passed, I was ready for the first shake, and I was good for a while after finishing it.  Remember how I told you this is not the kind of detox you do only on a weekend?  Well, Captain’s Log entry.  9:30am.  Dude…  I pooped at work (see what I did there?).  I. Do. NOT. do that.  Except that one time TODAY!  I work for a physical therapy company, and I happened to be in a very busy clinic rather than my nice quiet office this morning.  Now people know I poop, and I’ll never be the same.  Apparently, this can happen in the first week with the extra boost of fiber.  Lesson learned, and I’ll take 1/2 the dose tomorrow.  (Side Note:  I ended up leaving that clinic to return to my office 20 minutes earlier than I had planned. There was something in that building that smelled like someone baked Fruity Pebbles inside a cupcake.  I had to get out of there before I started sniffing patients to find it.)

I was up pretty late last night writing my first two posts, so I was fairly tired this morning.  I really wanted some coffee, but of course, that’s on the cannot list.  Arbonne, thankfully, has a little miracle worker called Energy Fizz Sticks.  I had two throughout the day to get me through.  They taste really good whether you put them in a little water or a lot of water, and they put a little pep back in my step.  They also help to curb your appetite, which helped me to stay away from my snacks.

Fizz Sticks

Toward the end of the day, after all shakes had been consumed, two Fizz Sticks down, and 3 additional bottles of water, I was feeling pretty hungry.  I had moved from the beginnings of hunger to the beginning of hunger pain, so I relented and had a snack. I brought along sliced green apple and a squeeze pack of Justin’s almond butter.  Two hours later I was in the same boat and ate a boiled egg about one hour before dinner.

Snacks

Dinner was great!  I don’t know if it tasted so good, because I was so ready for real food or if the organic food just tastes that good.  Roasted chicken, broccoli spears, and a baked sweet potato with coconut spread.  I would eat it again tomorrow!

dinner.jpg

SUMMARY:

Was I hungry?  Yes, but not starving.  I experienced that feeling when you’re just beginning to feel hungry but it lasted almost the whole day.  It didn’t matter if I was in the holding pattern before a shake, just after a shake, after a snack, or, literally, 10 minutes after finishing a really good, fulfilling dinner!  It was kind of frustrating, because I couldn’t seem to kick it. Luckily, I had been prepared for this by my Independent Consultant sister, Christina.  Apparently, this is common for the first week.  The best advice I got which also led to an inordinately busy bladder, was to keep drinking water.  Then drink more water.  Then, when you think you’ve had enough, drink two more bottles.

I am ending my first day with Arbonne Herbal Detox Tea, The Voice, and bed.

Detox Tea

More coming tomorrow!!

Leave a Reply

