Day 2 of 30. Temptation (insert eye roll)

Today was less challenging in one way, and super sucky in another.

I started my day just a little differently.  I added Arbonne’s Herbal Detox Tea into my morning, which seemed to solve the all-day hunger business.  I didn’t even need a snack!  Today’s shakes were a lot better than yesterday, too, and included:

  • Arbonne Vanilla Shake Mix
  • Arbonne Daily Fiber Boost
  • Liquid = 1/2 coconut milk, 1/2 water
  • Frozen blueberries (I like to use frozen berries rather than ice)
  • Baby kale
  • Flax meal

The fun thing was the way it looked which was completely normal and purple in the morning, as you’d expect of blueberries.  By lunch, the shake took on a dark gray-green, moldy zombie skin look.  Tasted great!

Day 2 Shake

Today was a meeting day at work, and that meant someone would be preparing a meal at lunchtime.  I want you to just take a minute and stretch your olfactory memory.  Think about the smell that makes your soul happy when you smell it coming out of the kitchen.  Close your eyes… Imagine it…. Bring it back and let it make you smile.  Now imagine, you can smell it, you can look at it, you can stick your face over the pot and breath the steam in, you can even touch it!  But you CANNOT TASTE IT!!!  Holy crap.  Yesterday’s Fruity Pebbles cupcakes were child’s play.

From 8:30am until about 1:30pm, I smelled the from-scratch cooking of chicken gravy and biscuits. If you don’t know that scent, think Thanksgiving.  Oh. My. Lord…  I didn’t give in, but it was hard.  The best part?  Watching other people eating that magical gravy goodness.  The cook herself, who I’ve known for years, literally moaned over it saying, “I think this is the best I’ve every made!!” while knowing full well what my lunch was going to be.  I leaned in and gave her a love-filled, under-the-breath F-you.  We both laughed hysterically, and I went back to my office.  But damn it… I meant it!  Do you hear me Wendy!?

Once all that was past, and the meeting was over, I finished up my day and headed home for dinner.  Like I said, I really didn’t stay hungry all day, but by the time I got home I was ready to eat something.  It was so delicious, I know we’ll have this one again.  We made burrito bowls using some of the chicken left over from last night’s roasted chicken.  We layered our bowls with with:

  • Brown rice
  • A mixture of shredded chicken and black beans seasoned with homemade taco seasoning
  • Diced tomatoes
  • Diced red onion
  • Diced avocado

On the side we had Lundberg, Santa Fe Barbeque flavored rice chips with homemade salsa.  Let me tell you, while everything in the bowl was really tasty, the salsa was the winner of the show.  A bunch of it found its way into each of our bowls.  I have to apologize –  I got so excited for dinner, I forgot to take a picture before I demolished it.  Sorry!  I’ll take a picture the next time we make it.  Side Note:  Take a look at the price tag – original vs discount grocery price.  We bought them out! There were at least 4 completely whole chips in the bag, so we got to pretend we were getting more since they were mainly in small-ish pieces.

Rice Chips

Did you also notice the box with a blender on it?  It’s new.  I had to replace my trusty ole Oster, since a blender is now a staple kitchen gadget.  What happened to the old one?  The dad figure found out what happens when you drop the metal blender ball in and turn it on.  It tears up the glass, and he’s pretty sure he drank some of the little pieces.  He seems to be just fine.  Nothing more odd than normal to report!

SUMMARY:

Today wasn’t so bad!  Other than the chicken gravy torture, everything was great!  I’m hoping the new order of supplements I used this morning is going to work again tomorrow.  I’ll keep you posted.

Stay tuned!  I’ll be back tomorrow.

One thought on “Day 2 of 30. Temptation (insert eye roll)

Leave a Reply

