Day 4 of 30. Smooth Sailing?

Good news!!  I feel like a regular human today!  I woke up at my usual time, and got ready in my usual fashion, and it was mostly shennanigan-free.  I was running a little late, so I threw my shakes together in a hurry, and they were, oddly, the best so far!  Even my son liked it.  They included:

  • Arbonne Chocolate Protein Shake Mix
  • Arbonne Daily Fiber Boost
  • Extra frozen blueberries
  • Baby kale
  • Flax Meal
  • 50/50 – Thicker coconut milk (purchased at Aldi) / Water

The only thing that’s off-putting about blueberries in these shakes is the color they turn.  I don’t drink either shake right away, and by the time I get to them, they look like dark, wet cement with a hint of green.  Weird.

There’s really not a lot to report for today, so I thought I’d give you a progress update.  As I was cleaning up after dinner, I realized two things.

1) Dinner.  Crap.  I forgot the dang picture again!  (I don’t think this is going to be my strong point) I made dinner today and got a little revenge on my parents.  My sister lives in Oklahoma, and I believe some of the recipes supplied to my group originate from that area.  You know what that means?  They like their chili HOT, and I followed the recipe exactly as it is.  Oh boy!  It was SO spicy!  I coughed after nearly every bite, then the dad guy came to the kitchen with a red face and sweaty head – not just his face, his WHOLE head – “I can’t believe how hot that is! How much cayenne did you put in there?”  On second thought I think I might have doubled that one (insert smiling devil face here).

On the side we had a salad with mixed greens, tomatoes and onions, and we made homemade ranch to go with it.  Veganaise is a revelation.  Sounds like it must be gross, but I like it more than regular mayo.  My son said he thinks something was missing.  I’m pretty sure it’s the acid you get from buttermilk.  Next time I might try adding a little cider vinegar or lemon juice to see if it fixes it.

2) I’m already noticing a change!  Usually when I come home after work, I’m absolutely beat.  If there are things I need to get done, I know I need to do them before I sit down, because once I’m down, I’m out.  Even before I sit and I’m working on stuff, I’m dreading every next minute and usually quit half-way in.  Today, I won’t say I was full of energy, but I definitely didn’t feel like I was dragging ass like I normally do.  It’s strange to feel like I can just do what I’ve got to do without having to force myself.  Really kind of nice too.

Also, I think my bloodthirsty, super-stalker friend, Sugar, might’ve accepted the break-up.  I didn’t feel hungry more than a pre-detox day today.  I think my work lady was right.  If I could make it to day four, I’d be ok.  Let’s hope for smooth sailing, although I fear I will eat my words tomorrow – if only they could be solid…

SUMMARY:

I think I can do this.

One thought on “Day 4 of 30. Smooth Sailing?

Leave a Reply

